Baikal Neuroscience Meeting 2019

International Conference “Baikal Neuroscience Meeting 2019”

The Baikal Neuroscience Meeting 2019 will take place on the lake Baikal in Siberia from June 03 to June 07, 2019.
The conference themes include development of cortical neuronal networks, neuron-glia interactions, cortical circuits in health and disease, function and plasticity of synapses.
All together, we are planning to have between 25–30 international and Russian speakers.
The conference will take place in a small hotel located at biostation Bolshie Koty on the lake, approximately 50 miles from Irkutsk.
Lake Baikal is the deepest and largerst freshwater lake by volume in the world, surrounded by national park. The lake was declared a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1996.
The Conference Fee includes transfers, accommodation (including 2 nights in Irkutsk upon arrival and departure), full board, conference package, welcome dinner, two short hiking tours, one boat tour.
Optional individual tours (4-5 days on boat tour or/and 2-3 days hiking tour with tents) after the meeting will be available. Please contact organizers in advance for additional information.

Date June 03–07, 2019
Venue Biostation Bolshie Koty, Lake Baikal, Russia
Sections Development of cortical neuronal networks
Neuron-glia interactions
Cortical circuits in health and disease
Function and plasticity of synapses

Invited speakers:

  • Andrey Abramov, UCL Institute of Neurology (UK)
  • Zafar Bashir, Bristol University (UK)
  • Juan Burrone, KCL Centre for Developmental Neurobiology (UK)
  • Stuart Cobb, Edinburgh University (UK)
  • Mark Cunningham, Dublin University (Ireland)
  • Georg Dechant, Medizinische Universität Innsbruck (Austria)
  • Andreas Draguhn, Heidelberg University (Germany)
  • Alexander Gourine, UCL Neuroscience, Physiology & Pharmacology (UK)
  • Laurent Groc, Université de Bordeaux (France)
  • Carina Hanashima, Waseda University (Japan)
  • Michael Hausser, UCL Wolfson Institute for Biomedical Research (UK)
  • Christian Henneberger, University of Bonn Medical School (Germany)
  • Andrew Irving, Dublin University (Ireland)
  • Roustem Khazipov, Institut de Neurobiologie de la Méditerranée INMED (France)
  • Frank Kirchhoff, University of Saarland (Germany)
  • Dimitri Kullmann, UCL Institute of Neurology (UK)
  • Marat Minlebaev, Institut de Neurobiologie de la Méditerranée INMED (France)
  • Zoltan Molnar, University of Oxford (UK)
  • Christophe Mulle, Université de Bordeaux (France)
  • Mami Noda, Kyushu University (Japan)
  • Sam Pleasure, University of California (USA)
  • Evgenii Ponimaskin, Medizinische Hochschule Hannover (Germany)
  • Pasko Rakic, Yale School of Medicine (USA)
  • John Rubenstein, UCSF (USA)
  • Dmitri Rusakov, UCL Institute of Neurology (UK)
  • Katalin Toth, Laval Univresity (Canada)
  • Anne Voss, WEHI (Australia)
  • Gregory Wulszyn, Charité –Universitätsmedizin Berlin (Germany)
  • Alexey Zaitsev, RAS Sechenov Institute of Evolutionary Physiology and Biochemistry (Russia)


  • Alexey Semyanov, RAS Shemyakin-Ovchinnikov Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry (Russia), Moscow State University (Russia)
  • Andrei Rozov, Universität Heidelberg (Germany)
  • Kirill Volynski, UCL Institute of Neurology (UK)
  • Victor Tarabykin, Charité –Universitätsmedizin Berlin (Germany), Lobachevsky State University of Nizhny Novgorod (Russia)


ISU logo IBCh logo

Irkutsk State University

RAS Shemyakin-Ovchinnikov Institute of Bioorganic Chemistry